Fall shopping

When some friends told me they were going to NYC this weekend, I urged them to go to the Barney’s warehouse sale. I urged them so hard that I almost decided to get in the car and go myself. This is the sale of all sales, the deals of all deals, the best sale ever, not only for the great clothes at incredibly low prices, but for the scene itself. Crazed women undressing in the aisles to try on clothes (there were no fitting rooms for many years – it is in a warehouse building).

Alas, common sense ruled – I am not driving to NYC on Labor Day weekend.

So, we decided to drive an hour to the local outlets. [“We” is myself, my husband, and my mother.]

I hadn’t been lately. New stores!

kate spade yardely serena bagAt Kate Spade, everything was 40% off already marked-down prices. I got the Yardley Serena bag in black textured leather. I like the outside side-pockets – great to slip in cell phones, the BlackBerry, even a pack of smokes.

We hit BCBG Max Azaria, where the trendy clothes got  some husband-frowns but where I bought – anyway – a really long black cardigan sweater with 3/4 sleeves and a black and white silky top with a waist-sash.

Escada-White-Ruffle-Top_21B7F1B8And then we stepped into Escada. The original prices here are outrageous, but the sale was up to 90% off. 

This white button-down shirt has a V-neck, but a tie sash on the collar. Some random shopper woman who already bought this shirt showed me how to tie the sash in the back, on the side, and other various ways.  [That kind of sounds odd.] Also, there was a black cashmere sleeveless shell with white stitched edges reduced from over $400 to $29. No brainer.

I did leave behind the $1,100 fuschia safari jacket (on sale for $80) that the saleswoman and other customers kept urging me to buy because “the color looks so good with your black hair!” 

Even the best sale cannot sway me to enter a room in a puffy-sleeved fuschia safari jacket.

4 responses to “Fall shopping

  1. Michele, you and I shop alike. We have an outlet mall near here and when I go, I’m gone half a day.
    Those are some amazing deals.
    Are you regretting not getting the safari jacket?

  2. LOL – I would regret it if I had bought it!

    I went shopping some more the next day – for shoes.

  3. That’s good. I usually regret not getting something I spotted and liked and sometimes go back for it.
    Happens too often with me, actually.

    Any good deals on the shoes?

  4. The shoes were expensive – I did not get them at the outlets. But they were 10% off.

Leave a Reply

