So long

Sorry I have not been around in a while, it has been a rough week.

Last Friday, my aunt passed away. She lived to 91, a nice old age, but it is still hard to lose her.

We went up to NYC for the funeral. My father, her younger brother, was not well enough to travel from Florida, so I asked him if he wanted me to write something for him that I could read at the service. His memories, his thoughts? He did, and I did.

My aunt believed that family is more important than anything else. I learned that from her. She was a wise woman, the second woman to graduate from Hunter College with a social work degree.

Everytime I crossed the GW bridge, I looked up the Hudson river and could make out her building. She used to sit on her terrace over the Hudson and watch the boats go by. I don’t think I will ever stop doing that.

When I asked my father how he feels about losing his sister, he said that he does not feel like he’s lost her, he feels like she is still around.

He can only say “so long” – he can never say “goodbye.”

So long.

5 responses to “So long

  1. Michele,

    My heart goes out to you and your family. How beautiful to post this wonderful memory of her and her “boat watching” and how you will always remember it.

    You are so fortunate to have a loving family. I agree with your aunt, there is nothing more imporant!

    Be well.

  2. That is a very powerful memory and image which says a lot about your aunt and about you and what your mind notes and remembers.

    Remembering, being remembered – images like that shared with others so we remember too in our way.

    What else can we do when we lose someone?

    Thank you for sharing and I hope your father is doing okay under the circumstances.

    Hugs to you michele.

  3. Thanks for your thoughts, Julie & Sulya.

  4. So sorry your dad was unable to make it to NYC.
    “So long,” that is so touching.

    I hope you are okay, hey, you have my number, call anytime, girl.

  5. I’m okay Kit, thanks.

    I may still call you though, just to say hi, lol.

Leave a Reply

