Monuments and memorials – and now

Last weekend we spent some time in DC, and did what tourists do – we visited some monuments and memorials. It was a very cold and windy day.

 washington-memorial

<— Washington monument, and ducks.

 

 

 

 

 

The Franklin Delano Roosevelt memorial, which opened 11 years ago, is very moving. It is outdoors and consists of waterfalls and statues and art and inscriptions carved into stone. These inscriptions are FDR quotes, and, as I read them, I felt that what he said over 50 years ago, is so applicable to our current times and our current world. It is no wonder President-elect Obama is so inspired by him.

michele-and-the-fdr-memorial

“I see one-third of a nation ill-housed, ill-clad, and ill-nourished. The test of our progress is not whether we add more to the abundance of those who have much; it is whether we provide enough for those who have too little.” – Franklin Delano Roosevelt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 vietnam-memorial-statue

<— Statue at Vietnam War memorial.

“I have seen war. I have seen war on land and sea. I have seen blood running from the wounded. I have seen the dead in the mud. I have seen cities destroyed. I have seen children starving. I have seen the agony of mothers and wives. I hate war.” – Franklin Delano Roosevelt

 

Sadly, some things never change. But. There is hope. Finally.

5 responses to “Monuments and memorials – and now

  1. Haha Michele, that’s you in line?

    Those are some amazing bronzes. I’ve seen the Viet Vet one but missed the soup line one.

    Great post, so true how we are repeating past mistakes.

  2. Hey who, that girl in the back? Yeah, that’s me, lol.

    I had not been to either of those memorials before.

  3. LOL. I love that.

  4. I was in DC, too! I live in the area, so it’s not so surprising, but I was actually downtown sightseeing on the same weekend as you, at many of the same places. I had family in town, which is typically the only time I actually make it to the many landmarks. Small world!
    See ya-
    Mike Edwards
    AKA as the agitator from Thursday Night 5150 Chat.

  5. Cool! Were you the guy with the long beard I walked by?

Leave a Reply

