Run for the roses, and r.i.p.

I don’t usually watch horse races, but yesterday I did.

I wish I hadn’t.

Eight Belles, the only filly running the Kentucky Derby, you go girl, came in second and then – collapsed. She had broken both front ankles.

And had to be put down right then and there.

I can not stop thinking about this.  About how such a thing could happen.  About the last day of her life when she overcame the odds and almost beat the boys.

And it makes me profoundly sad. 

Image & story from The Olympian. 

2 responses to “Run for the roses, and r.i.p.

  1. Oh, that is so sad.

  2. It is. Bothered me all weekend.

Leave a Reply

