Holding on

The car is misbehaving.

It has travelled 220,000 miles with me, and I have vowed to drive it until it drops.  Mainly because I like the car.  Also because I do not want to pay car payments again.  Also I get ornery when people [okay mainly my mother] tell me I should look into getting a new car. 

A couple of years ago, the air-conditioning broke down, and I did not wish to spend $800 to fix it, so I suffer in the summers with open windows and not driving between the hours of 10 am and 6 pm. 

Lately, 4th gear decides to disengage for no logical reason, and re-engages in no logical pattern that I can find.  This usually occurs when I start the car, and no amount of hitting the little button on the side of the gear shift as the instruction manual tells me to do makes any difference.  It re-engages when it wants to.

The other night I was driving home from the airport and 4th gear disengaged while I was tooling along on the entrance to the highway.  This was disconcertingly new.

So, I take the car to the shop today.  And I hope it is no big deal and no big $ to fix this.

Or else it may be time to say, ‘bye trusted volvo, first car I ever chose for myself and owned.  It’s been a nice ride.”

 

7 responses to “Holding on

  1. My car is 4 or 5 years old and I will drive that sucker into the ground.
    I hate the process of buying a car. The games, the same old lines, “Let me go talk to my boss” are just too much bother.

  2. That is the transmission, Sunshine, that is going to cost barrels o’ cash to fix. Time for a new car.

  3. I got lucky – it was the overdrive relay that had gone out [who knew such a thing existed] – and cost $120 to fix. Whew.

    Kitty, I agree – I have owned this car for 15 years, got a few thousand off because I bought the dealer model – which means it had like 1000 miles on it.

  4. Wow that is super lucky. Transmissions can run into a thousand. You are still torturing yourself with that lack of AC though and summer is coming you should splurge and give yourself AC as a present.

  5. I am thinking about doing something, but don’t want to spend a whole lot.

  6. Think about your lovely wardrobe. Think about what you have spent on your lovely wardrobe. Think about how that lovely wardrobe will look after you submit it to desperate hot driving conditions. Add this to your lovely hair. Repeat. Now. Think of the AC fix as a super wonderful wardrobe accessory that goes with everything you will ever wear and also makes your hair fluffy.

    Do the AC thing.

  7. Hmm. The b-day is coming soon.

    Honestly, I bring this up and get “maybe you should get a new car rather than pour this $ in to the volvo” from husband. Grrr. Then he offers to switch cars with me for the summer so he can suffer instead.

Leave a Reply

