The Beatles meet “Fantasia”

There is a lot of buzz over this new film, directed by Julie Taymor of “The Lion King” fame [Broadway].

It is “Across the Universe,” and looks interesting. And unique.

I’ve read the New York Times review. 

I’ve watched the trailer.  I am going to see this movie, on the big screen, as soon as it opens near me.  [It better open near me.]

Here is the trailer.

4 responses to “The Beatles meet “Fantasia”

  1. Wow. I hadn’t heard about this one. Looks great! Did you see it yet?

    Thanks for linking the trailer.

    I love this from the NYTReview:

    “Because of its oh-wow aesthetic, its refusal to adopt a critical distance from the ’60s drug culture, its tacit approval of the characters’ antiwar activism and its token attention to the decade’s racial strife, “Across the Universe” leaves itself wide open to derision, complaints and endless nitpicking. But it couldn’t have succeeded any other way. The movie is completely devoid of the protective cynicism that is now a reflexive response to the term “the ’60s.””

    Oh, and hi… I found your blog by accident. I hope you won’t mind my lurking. 🙂

    I kinda like that Clay fella too.

  2. Hi YSRN. Lurk all you want, comment all you want… welcome.

    I have not seen the movie yet, but am itching to.

    “I kinda like that Clay fella too” – how could you not? I am so gonna go see him on Broadway in Spamalot.

  3. Oh me too! I’m trekking from CA, so I’ll probably wait until spring, but I wouldn’t miss it for the world. So much hilarity. And he’s good at that too.

    Thanks for the welcome!

  4. Well it is worth the trip to see him in tights.

Leave a Reply

