Are you funny? How so?

I took this interesting quiz – the 3 variable funny test.  

  

Your Score: the Prankster

(47% dark, 15% spontaneous, 36% vulgar)

your humor style:
CLEAN | COMPLEX | LIGHT Your humor has an intellectual, even conceptual slant to it. You’re not pretentious, but you’re not into what some would call ‘low humor’ either. You’ll laugh at a good dirty joke, but you definitely prefer something clever to something moist. You probably like well-thought-out pranks and/or spoofs and it’s highly likely you’ve tried one of these things yourself. In a lot of ways, yours is the most entertaining type of humor because it’s smart without being mean-spirited. PEOPLE LIKE YOU: Conan O’Brian – Ashton Kutcher

Link: The 3 Variable Funny Test written by jason_bateman on OkCupid Free Online Dating, home of the The Dating Persona Test
13 responses to “Are you funny? How so?

  1. I thought the result was fairly surprising, as I didn’t find many of the choices especially funny or remotely subtle.

    Your Score: the Idiot Savant(47% dark, 46% spontaneous, 52% vulgar)

    your humor style:
    VULGAR | SPONTANEOUS | LIGHT

    You like things silly, immediate, and, above all, outrageous. Ixne on the subtle word play, more testicles on fire, please. People like you are the most likely to RECEIVE internet forwards–and also the most likely to save them in a special folder entitled ‘HOLY SHIT’.

    Because it’s so easily appreciated, and often wacky and physical, your sense of humor never ceases to amuse your friends. Most realize that there’s a sly intelligence and a knowing wink to your tastes. Your sense of humor could be called ‘anti-pretentious’–but paradoxically enough, that indicates you’re smarter than most.

    PEOPLE LIKE YOU: Johnny Knoxville – Jimmy Kimmel

  2. Your Score: the Wit
    (57% dark, 30% spontaneous, 31% vulgar)

    your humor style:
    CLEAN | COMPLEX | DARK

    You like things edgy, subtle, and smart. I guess that means you’re probably an intellectual, but don’t take that to mean pretentious. You realize ‘dumb’ can be witty–after all isn’t that the Simpsons’ philosophy?–but rudeness for its own sake, ‘gross-out’ humor and most other things found in a fraternity leave you totally flat.

    I guess you just have a more cerebral approach than most. You have the perfect mindset for a joke writer or staff writer.

    Your sense of humor takes the most thought to appreciate, but it’s also the best, in my opinion.

    You probably loved the Office. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, check it out here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/comedy/theoffice/.

    PEOPLE LIKE YOU: Jon Stewart – Woody Allen – Ricky Gervais

    [actually to me The Office was incredibly dull, hmm]

  3. Well, Max, your’s seems right on.

    [I did not get into The Office either, but only saw the American version a couple of times] Woody Allen, hmm…

    Yeah, BruudahBob, I did not laugh at much in the test either. I am surprised at the “vulgar” part of your score – I have never heard you utter the word “testicles” before.

  4. I did not know there was a British version of The Office. I bet I would like it better.

  5. It was the original and I hear it is way better than the American version.

  6. The Ham
    (33% dark, 53% spontaneous, 31% vulgar)

    your humor style:
    CLEAN | SPONTANEOUS | LIGHT

  7. I got the same as max. The Wit. I cringed all the way through the UK version of the office. Can’t bring myself to watch the US version no matter that I like Steve Carell… I am always in pain with characters like that – watching the screen through my fingers praying that they will stop being such tools…

  8. “watching the screen through my fingers praying that they will stop being such tools…”

    That was exactly my reaction to the Stripes version of The Office. It is also my reaction to most Woody Allen films. Hmm.

  9. I like Woody Allen films. Well, I should say I like some of them – Annie Hall, Manhattan. Must be a NY thing.

  10. I have liked and do like several Woody Allen films but he definitely irritates me too. I admire his endless productivity (for better or for worse ). I absolutely loved The Purple Rose of Cairo (and still do). Annie Hall is fun. Been a while but I’m a fan of Hannah and her Sisters too… And “Everything you always wanted to know about sex* but were afraid to ask” is freakin’ hilarious. That giant boob killing people… I’m cracking up just thinking about it… Gene Wilder in love with a sheep drinking Woolite in the gutter… LOL

  11. I love Purple Rose of Cairo. The rest, eh.

  12. I loved his very early comedies best – Take The Money and Run, Bananas, even What’s Up Tiger Lily – even more than Annie Hall and Manhattan. I saw a very good double feature last year of Radio Days and Broadway Danny Rose. And his short stories are also very memorable, with stuff like this:

    Why does man kill? He kills for food. And not only food. Frequently there must be a beverage.

  13. BruddahBob – lol!

    Yeah, I forgot – I liked Hannah and her Sisters. Some of the ealry stuff – thats stuff husband likes better than I do. Although he loves the opening of Manhattan – as do I.

Leave a Reply

