The Gates

img_0014jpg-really-small.jpg  I’ve been meaning to post this picture up for some time now – just because I like it.

“The Gates, Central Park, New York, 1979-2005”  was conceived by artists Christo and Jeanne-Claude in 1979, and was installed in Central Park in February 2005, where it remained for only 16 days.  This was huge-scale – 7,503 saffron gates dotted the park. 

I was lucky enough to be there.  Husband took this picture. 

For more information, go here

2 responses to “The Gates

  1. Michele, please tell your hubby I enjoy this shot. I love the dots of orange in the brown and grey-blue of the city. It’s lovely. I haven’t been to NY since 1997… It was sweltering hot, humid. I scratched my back and my fingernails came back black with the dirt of the city. Still. Amazing energy and this photo somehow gets that. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Thanks Sulya. It was incredible in person – this was taken from the roof terrace of the Met (musuem.)

    If you go to NYC again, early December is a good time – Christmas decorations, the tree, it’s all good…

Leave a Reply

