A touch of soul (& a little rock and roll)

b000iy04s601_aa240_sclzzzzzzz_v44211451_.jpgI like this CD.  Taylor’s sound is a throwback to old soul and rock and roll that reminds me a little of Southside Johnny, Paul Simon, and a bit of Ray Charles thrown in.  

I especially like tracks 7 (“Just to Feel That Way” – the single), 9 (“Places I’ve Been” – the only ballad), 10 and 11 – (“Soul Thing” and “The Deal” – Taylor wrote these a while back and they are highlights), and 12 (“The Right Place”).  I like all of the other tracks as well, except track 1 – skip that.   His harmonica riffs are damn good too.

You can listen to snippets here

11 responses to “A touch of soul (& a little rock and roll)

  1. Hmm. I think it is time to YouTube you Michele. I am lazy and spoiled and expect to see an arrow on a big box.

  2. It takes too long to load those things I tried and have no patience.

  3. Two words: Satellite cable.

  4. You only post a link to your text with the necessary brackets and it loads itself.

    Max, do not poke sticks at those with dial up, especially those that have the knowledge to hack you from work.

  5. I cannot help it. The stick was just there. Luring me.

  6. Why do you think Idol has buried almost any references to him this season?

  7. I don’t think they wanted him to win – Chris was the chosen one. And Chris is selling more CDs.

  8. Because he is old and outside the marketablilty realms ?

    Just a thought.

  9. I don’t think he’s that old, he has premature graying, but looks like he’s in his 20s.

  10. aj he is 29 – he is prematurely gray. Actually, he looks much better in person. I touched his arm.

Leave a Reply

