Noodles, Noodles, Noodles

noodles1.jpg I am a pasta junkie.  [there – I said it]

I seek out restaurants for the best noodles.  I cook pasta [I have some damn good recipes too – see my recipe for spaghetti carbonara.]

In New York, I go to Momofuko for ramen.  Mee Noodle Shop for cold sesame noodles and then some roasted pork [husband does duck] dry mix.  Wo Hop for the best 3D chow fun and homemade wontons. 

Which brings me to a problem.  I cannot find any cold sesame noodles in the town where I live.   Nowhere.  Nada.

So I worked and worked on getting this recipe right.  And the trick is using peanut butter [oh, the secret is out].

Here it is –

Michele’s Cold Sesame Noodles:   

Ingredients:

10 ounces of spaghetti or oriental noodles

1 tablespoon light olive oil [this will be used to coat the noodles after they cook to keep them from becoming a mass of concrete when they cool]

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

1/2 cup boiled water [hot, hot]

3 tablespoons light soy sauce

1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar

1 teaspoon hot chil oil

OPTIONAL GARNISHES- 2 chopped scallions, 1 teaspoon sesame seeds, toasted [dry, in stovetop pan, a few minutes]

Action:

Cook the pasta al dente.

When it is cooked, drain it, add the one tablespoon of light olive oil, and let it cool to room temperature.

Combine the peanut butter, boiled water, soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, and chili oil.  Mix until smooth.  [You may need to add a little more boiled water here – play with it]

When noodles have cooled down, mix in the sauce, and add the optional garnishes.

4 responses to “Noodles, Noodles, Noodles

  1. I also love the noodles and have no place to purchase them up here. My mother and I have worked on a recipe by Ina Garten and manipulated it for us. It is very simular. I love to add chopped peanuts, green peas, and scallions on top. Ina had red pepper chopped up in it also but I just don’t like that. Every time I’ve made it I’ve had to use spaghetti but then this week I located a Super Wal-Mart that sells Chinese Soba noodles and I’m just waiting for a day to present it’s self.

  2. I could live off of pasta. I love glass noodles, but haven’t figured out how to make a good sauce for them yet.

    This recipe looks good, Michele.

  3. I looooove noodles. Pasta, Hokkien noodles, Rice noodles, you name it. German is more into the Raviolli type, but to me, they are not noodles, so we clash there.

    Am going to give that recipe a go this week, Michele.

  4. Cool aj – let me know how it turns out.

    Whenever I tried to make glass noodles they ended up becoming one glob of a mess.

Leave a Reply

